Green Fingers… Sowing not Sewing

Now its February this is the time when I start to think about spring coming and getting ready to work towards my dream of growing my own vegetables. Its been about 2 years since I have been interested in growing my own, but they haven’t been 2 years of successful growing… that’s for sure. I tend to always have 1 really successful crop and the rest I either forget about or have sown too late to get good fruit. So this year I am sowing early… although its not really early, its on time for most gardeners but early for me! This year I am determined to be a success…

Green Fingers Title

I have started by sowing Tomato, Sweet Pepper and Chilli…

Empty Tray

 

I have decided to sow more seeds than I require, for the chilli plants I thought that even if I have too many I can always give them to people as gifts.

I have also sown several varieties of tomato, I love the look of a salad with yellow and red tomatoes in, so I have decided to grow both.

Fill with soilWater

 

To get the seeds to germinate I have popped them in the airing cupboard as it can be a bit cold on the window sill, but as soon as they are starting to grow through the soil I will put them on the window sill.

 

Pop on the window sill

 

I have also started chitting my potatoes. I have never grown potatoes before but have read a few blogs and some really good books and they advise chitting for 6 weeks before planting them so here goes…

Chitting PotatoesChitting Potatoes sill

 

Wish me luck with my veggies… and I will let you know how I get on x

One thought on “Green Fingers… Sowing not Sewing

  1. Really wishing you well. Looking forward to all the wisdom, from reading up in books and blogs, bearing lots of fruit! xx

Leave a Reply

